h1

#33 – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

July 25, 2007

the scene ends badly, as you might imagine, in a cavalcade of anger and fear; i am gonna make it through this year if it kills meI don’t think it would be an exaggeration to say that more has been written on the Internet about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows than has been written on any other book on its release. I’ve been finding it increasingly difficult to avoid spoilers until I started reading it yesterday, as it’s been discussed by countless blogs, including some ridiculously lengthy and insightful reviews from McNutts Elder and Younger. I don’t think my unconditional love for J.K. Rowling will really add anything constructive to what’s already been said, so I’ll keep this short and simple – I loved Deathly Hallows, and I love the Harry Potter series as a whole even more because of how good it was. In doing what I thought impossible – providing a satisfying, perfect ending to the story – Rowling has solidified Harry Potter‘s status as one of the greatest modern epics (having never read Homer and Virgil, I feel I’ve got to add the qualifier “modern”, but I’m certain I’d enjoy Harry Potter more).

If you’re a reader, and you haven’t read these books, you’re going to have to come up with a good excuse why not. Their overwhelming popularity, and the massive hype around them, won’t do: they deserve it, and live up to it. I’m just happy that my younger brother got me reading Harry Potter early enough that I could be a part of this collective experience over these past few books. And if you have read them, or are reading now – let’s talk about them sometime. I’m glad to be able to stop speculating about what’s going to happen, and fondly remember what did happen.

Leave a Reply

